Our people

Find out more about the people who make up the Work and Equalities Institute.

Steering group

Core members

Affiliate members

External members

Emeritus members

Advisory boards

The Work and Equalities Institute has three advisory boards:

National Policy Advisory Board 

  • Matt Ainsworth, Greater Manchester Combined Authority Ageing Hub
  • Helen Beers, Health and Safety Laboratory
  • Samantha Clarke, Director of North West ACAS
  • Lynn Collins, TUC North West Regional Secretary
  • Nicola Countouris, Professor of Labour Law and European Law, UCL
  • Steve Craig, UCATT
  • Paul Dennett, City Mayor, Salford City Council
  • Silvia Galandini, Oxfam
  • Jo Garsden, Greater Manchester Combined Authority Ageing Hub
  • Alison Higgins, Health and Safety Executive
  • Paul McGarry, Greater Manchester Combined Authority Ageing Hub
  • Gwen Oliver, Equality and Human Rights Commission
  • Stephen Overell, Greater Manchester Combined Authority
  • Steve Sumner, IOSH Chair National Safety Symposium
  • Heather Wakefield, Chair, Maternity Action
  • Graham Whitham, Greater Manchester Poverty Action
  • Tom Wilson, Greater Manchester Poverty Action
  • Wilson Wong, CIPD

International Academic Advisory Board

  • Marian Baird, The University of Sydney Business School
  • Rose Batt, Cornell University
  • Gerhard Bosch, Uni Duisburg-Essen
  • Jenny Chan, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Fang Lee Cooke, Monash University
  • Premilla D'Cruz Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad
  • Ståle Einarsen, University of Bergen
  • Arne Kalleberg, University of North Carolina
  • Kevin Kelloway, Saint Mary’s University, Nova Scotia
  • Maarten Keune, Amsterdam University
  • Dong-One Kim, Korea University Business School
  • Tom Kochan, MIT Sloan School of Management
  • Ellen Kossek, Purdue University, Indiana
  • Katherine Lippel, University of Ottawa
  • Paula McDonald, The Queensland University of Technology
  • Ruth Milkman, City University of New York
  • Lourdes Munduate, University of Seville
  • Rafa Muñoz de Bustillo, The University of Salamanca
  • Gregor Murray, University of Montreal
  • Valeria Pulignano, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
  • Ida Regalia, University of Milan
  • Bill Roche, University College Dublin
  • Chris Tilly, University of California
  • Adrian Wilkinson, Griffith University
  • Charles Woolfson, Institute for Research on Migration, Ethnicity and Society, Sweden

International Policy Advisory Board

  • Janine Berg, Senior Policy Advisor, ILO
  • Enrique Fernandez-Macias, Senior Policy Advisor, Eurofound
  • Maria Jepsen, Head of research, European Trade Union Institute
  • Shahra Razavi, Chief research and data, UN Women
  • Peter Rigney, Irish Congress of Trade Unions
  • Manuel Velázquez, Chief Labour and Social Security Inspectorate, Biscay, Spain
  • Salvo Leonardi, CGIL

PhD students